[7.23.2012] Minyoung’s interview w/ Korean Daily ‘She says, “I’m totally absorbed … in this sorrowful romance. I’m really good at crying loudly.”

As i have mentioned to amanda before we’d love Minyoung to have an interview and this is because MY’s answers are straight from the heart.

When waffle linked the Baidu page i couldnt understand what made the fans sad but when i read , it was more of her having a hard time filming Dr. Jin and the expectations that came along the series. But voila! Shyangz from Soompi was kind enough to send me a full trans when i emailed her. But thanks also to Amanda for helping me out with some parts..gah our baby is JJANG!

She says, “I’m totally absorbed … in this sorrowful romance. I’m really good at crying loudly.”

She is Park Min Young, currently acting as 2 tragic characters at a time, in drama “Doctor Jin”.

“Just a while earlier, my surgery ended successfully!”

When talking about her drama, Actress Park Min Young (26) gets chirpy and alive. The drama is “Doctor Jin”, aired on the weekends, about Jin Hyuk (Song Seung Heon), who is a Joseon doctor that is able to travel through time to use modern medical techniques to save lives.

In the drama, Park Min Young takes on two roles, first as Jin Hyuk’s modern-day lover and good-natured doctor “Yoo Mi Na”, as well as his Joseon lover “Hong Young Rae” who learns medicine from Jin Hyuk. Although this dual role is a bigger challenge compared to her boyish scholar character “Kim Yoon Hee” in “SKKS” (2010) and bodyguard “Kim Na Na” in “City Hunter” (2011), she has excelled in her character portrayals since the beginning of the drama, and has earned praise for her crying scenes in the drama’s later half.

I had an interview with her at Yeouido on the night of July 20.

Answer: “These days, almost all scenes are tragic and involve crying, it requires so much energy from me, there were times when I really wanted to give up,” she said with a smile, and continued, “Getting married in a bid to save her family yet being painfully in love with someone else – you can say that Young Rae is a female lead of a sorrowful romance. Although the drama is about medicine in the Joseon times, I’m really absorbed with its charms of this ‘sorrowful romance’.”

Despite rave reviews, is Min Young disappointed that Doctor Jin’s ratings are beaten by competing drama A Gentleman’s Dignity?

Answer “I was nervous too, after hearing that our competitor was AGD. (laughs) Initially the ratings were neck to neck, there were much interest for our drama, there were viewers who liked our work, so we didn’t do too bad in the ratings. Anyway, the most important truth is that with regards to ratings, it’s so unpredictable only the gods will know how it will work out. Haha.”

Since her debut in 2006 sitcom “Unstoppable High Kick” as mysterious high school girl “Kang Yoo Mi”, Park Min Young can be considered to have achieved stardom today. She will likely continue to be cast as the female leads in more works, receive awards and her future path is bright.

Answer: To all these, she says, “My experiences of an actress can be compared to the enduring the passing of a dark dawn to welcome a beautiful morning thereafter.” She continued, “I went into a slump after finishing Ja Myung Go (2009). I realized I cannot only be satisfied if I’m the only who finds my acting acceptable. I also wondered whether I should continue acting or not. I gained strength from acting in 2010 short drama (MBC Running, 9) before gaining confidence from SKKS.”

When told that she is getting more praise with her acting performances,
she replies, “I have put in a lot of hard work these past 6 years, as much as I can to avoid over-exertion to my body,” ending with a slight smile. “To me, acting is about meeting a new character, much like an experience in a fairytale. If the character is enjoying herself, I would be happy the whole day, if she is sad, I will also be so absorbed in the character and feel depressed too. Now, no matter what kind of transformation the character undergoes or the difficulty of the acting, I will take on the challenge without fear.”

Park Min Young also attracts much attention besides her acting. She was accused of being a “plastic beauty” and admitted to having plastic surgery in a 2010 interview. Last year, she was again in the limelight for falling in and out of love with her co-star in a drama.

She says, “I guess this is the fate of a celebrity. I myself also monitor the internet use very closely, I’m human, and I admit I can’t say that “I’m not hurt at all, I am unaffected by all this.” All I am sure about is that in the past 6 years I have learnt how to discern things for myself. Which comments are useful criticism, that kind of skill. If I really hate them (bad comments) so much, I should stop (being a celebrity) right? Haha.”
She also said, “I’m a free spirit, so I really don’t know what will happen to me in the future.” “I don’t harp too much for the far future, my style is to live fully in the present. Although currently to me the air at shooting locations is the freshest, I understand that nobody can predict how life can change. Maybe one day I will suddenly announce I’m getting married, maybe one day I will become somebody’s wife, or become a child’s mother... Whether it’s acting, or anything else, I will always make the happiest choice.”

After “Doctor Jin”, what does she plan to do?

Park Min Young simply replied, “Self-contemplation”. Is this a spiritual reply? She said, “This is the title of my remaining compulsory liberal arts module in school (Dong Guk Uni). The school has been contacting me, asking how I’m going to finish this course, so I have to quickly finish my “Self-Contemplation” to graduate. (She sighs a bit) I’m entered the uni in 2004, you know.”

 

=================================================================

Please credit: Shyangz + minmincouple.wordpress.com if taken out.

As for the MINMIN otp part, i let you guys decide. We find it an open answer with underlying meaning and one of the reason we love Minyoung is that surprises keeps on pouring once it starts. ^^

12 thoughts on “[7.23.2012] Minyoung’s interview w/ Korean Daily ‘She says, “I’m totally absorbed … in this sorrowful romance. I’m really good at crying loudly.”

  1. Aaaaaa… I love the part when she answers: “Maybe one day I will suddenly announce I’m getting married, I will become somebody’s wife, or become a child’s mother…”
    Nice answer 😉 hehehe

      • same is here….wut a hint is this?! love MY for her frankness and this answer means a lot to me as a MINMIN shipper…

    • Me too! I love this part. My OTP shipping heart gives a flutter reading this line although there’s a part of me saying it might be still a long wait for the day MinMin walking down the aisle.
      For now I just hope their love for each other keeps going strong. MinMin fighting!

  2. Me too.. 😛
    I really like to read Park min young’s interview.. whenever she gave hint like that,she always make me nervous..,now,i just wondering if something good will happen ? 🙂

  3. I support her in her decision to finish her college degree!!! And I admire her that she values education so much!…. If u have the diploma no one, as in nobody can put u down!….It’s something that she can fall back to whenever she feels showbiz is killing her!!!….Go, go, go Minyoungssi, fighting!!!…..

  4. Oh em. This made my day. I think MinMin have plans of getting married already. Psssssssssssh. Tachycardia. ❤

  5. minyoung’s beautifully crafted physique plus the wit… oh gosh, minho is such a lucky guy!

    the full trans came out just this morning after the long wait last night (thanks to les hahaha joke!) and it really satisfied me. although her answers make me yearn more or want to dig more but it made my shippy heart flutter! made some crazy speculations with friends at twitterworld last night and ended up hitting the sack so late! that i call is minmin syndrome!

    happy for both of them! love minmin much!

  6. this girl is something… her intelligence comes out not only in her acting but in her interviews as well… she is deep, and multi-lingual too!

  7. Right on tthe contrary, do too much exercise,
    then expsct troubles in the sex department.
    You see, creativity starts the mental prcess thawt sets
    the stage for greaqt sex. Another one of the top ten mistakes made at work is
    having a sexsual relationship with a colleague
    or supervisor.

say something!